The ultimate terminal

A step by step guide to setup Hyper with fish and oh-my-posh

Kevin Kreuzer
6 min readDec 7, 2021

Today I finally received my new Mac Book Pro. The product I have been waiting for for weeks. After unboxing, I am finally ready to set up my brand new Mac.

So, where to start? Hmm… What’s the most important tool for a developer? A proper terminal, of course. I am not talking about an old fashion looking terminal. I am talking about some fancy stuff here.

What’s included

Our final terminal consists of three layers.

A Shell, a framework, and finally a terminal. There are various choices for each of those levels. In our case, we will use fish as a shell, oh-my-posh as a framework, and Hyper as a Terminal.

The Shell

A shell is an interface to the operating system. We can use this interface to execute commands or even scripts.

The most common shells are probably bash and zsh. zsh is much more customizable than bash but at its core, they are very similar. So if zsh and bash are the most common shells, why are we using fish?

--

--

Kevin Kreuzer

Passionate freelance frontend engineer. ❤️ Always eager to learn, share and expand knowledge.